Siege Y6S3: When does the Crystal Guard update release for Siege?

Jump To

Rainbow Six Siege's Crystal Guard update is almost here and Y6S3 is on the precipice of starting - We're here to talk about everything that's going to be added and changed in the latest title update and when you can start downloading it. Here's the latest...

RELEASE TIME - Ubisoft still keeping quiet...

At the moment, we still don't know when to expect Rainbow Six Siege's next major title update to drop. We have some idea - looking at the release schedule for the title update before - but nothing has been confirmed yet. All we have is the following:

Ubisoft should keep to the same release schedule - most developers do when releasing seasonal updates - but take everything with a pinch of salt until it is fully confirmed.

We should see Server Maintenance start around 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST and 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST - depending on the platform. This usually lasts an hour.

RELEASE DATE - When does it actually drop?

Rainbow Six Siege's next title update is coming tomorrow - September 7th. We don't know the exact time yet, but it should be live on all platforms by the following times:

  • 12:00 PST
  • 15:00 EST
  • 20:00 BST
Advertisement

There is usually an hour or two of Server Maintenence beforehand and Ubisoft often updates PC first, then Siege on Xbox consoles, and then Siege on PlayStation consoles. If you're seeing people play the update, but you haven't seen it yet, don't worry - basically.

OSA LOADOUT - What's the new Operator got?

Siege's Y6S3 update is almost here and there's going to be a new Operator joining the fight - if you didn't already know. Osa is an Attacker and she's a force to be reckoned with. Ubisoft has shared her loadout and we've got it below - It's subject to change, but we don't think it will.

  • Primary Weapon Options
    • 556xi Assault Rifle
    • PDW9 Submachine Gun
  • Secondary Weapon Options
    • PMM Pistol
  • Gadget Options
    • Smoke Grenade
    • Claymore
  • Health Level
    • Two Points
  • Speed Level
    • Two Points
  • Unique Operator Ability
    • Talon-8 Shield - Transparent, bulletproof, deployable.
Advertisement

Health is replacing Armor in the Crystal Guard update, meaning that Osa will have 110 HP.

BREAKDOWN - Everything coming in Y6S3...

We don't have all the specifics, but following the full Crystal Guard reveal, we now know the following:

  • Operator Balancing Changes
    • Twitch, IQ, & Fuze
  • Map Reworks
    • Bank, Clubhouse, Coastline
  • Flash Detection
    • Will now be based on the duration of full Flash and not the intensity of Flash
Advertisement

This is in addition to the new Operator - Osa - of course. She's a medium speed Attacker with a portable bulletproof shield that can be used to block bullets as much as it can be used to block visibility. Here's the lowdown of everything you need to know about the Y6S3 Crystal Guard update:

FLASH REWORK - Changes made in Test Server

The latest Test Server update is all about Rainbow Six Siege's Flash Effect and the Flash Detection rework that's coming in Y6S3. Crystal Guard might be a little way out from its release date, but that doesn't mean Ubisoft aren't hard at work fine-tuning the changes they're going to be making.

The following changes have been made:

  • FLASH EFFECT UPDATE
    • Decreased the duration of the flash effect based on the player's orientation.
    • Affects Stun grenades, Ying's Candela and Blitz's G52-Tactical Shield.
  • BUG FIXES
    • LEVEL DESIGN
      • FIXED – Flores' RCE-Ratero Charge and Twitch's Shock Drone get destroyed near fences on various maps.
      • FIXED – Multiple asset, collision, and destruction issues on various maps.
      • FIXED – A gap is visible when Osa's Talon-8 shield is attached to the door in Service Entrance/Kitchen on the Coastline map.
    • OPERATORS
      • FIXED – Shooting the back of Maestro's Evil Eye while his shield is open, destroys the device.

A decrease in duration would suggest that Ubisoft are struggling to balance Siege's Flash Effects - this is following the change from intensity to duration. Still, if you want to get clued up on the new map changes and how this Flash Rework works... It'll be worth jumping into the Crystal Guard Test Servers.