When does the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens start?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

The 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament is nearly upon us with play set to get underway on Friday, September 9th.

Cape Town will be the host city of this year's World Cup as South Africa prepares for its home tournament.

Here are all the key details you need for this summer's Rugby 7s action.


When is the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens?

As previously stated, this summer's 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament will begin on Friday, September 9th and run across three days with the final scheduled for Sunday, September 11th.

Day one of the tournament will consist of the pre-round of 16 matches to qualify for the main tournament bracket. Wales and Ireland are among the big names set to battle for a place in the final 16 on the opening day of the men's tournament.

Day two represents the Bowl and Challenge early rounds before the big day on Sunday arrives, closing out the tournament with the major placement matches and latter stages of the tournament.

Who will play at the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens?

Eight teams have already pre-qualified for this summer's tournament thanks to their performances at the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018.

The teams that have already qualified for the latter stages of the tournament are as follows:

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • Fiji
  • Argentina
  • France
  • Scotland
  • South Africa
  • USA

16 further teams will compete for eight spots in the round of 16. They are as follows:

  • Europe: Ireland, Wales, Germany, Portugal
  • Africa: Uganda, Zimbabwe, Kenya
  • North America: Canada, Jamaica
  • South America: Uruguay, Chile
  • Oceania: Australia, Tonga, Samoa
  • Asia: South Korea, Hong Kong